Liège-Bastogne-Liège next on the cards, Stephens 15th at recent Flèche Wallonne


Lauren Stephens led Team TIBCO- Silicon Valley Bank to its best-placed finish at Fleche Wallonne this Wednesday, claiming a solid 15th place out of a select group of world-class riders. 


Stephens made it into the front group of 15-20 riders heading into the final ascent of Mur de Huy. Kristen Faulkner was present in the chase, and took 33rd in her first World Tour race.


"The race went as expected, there was a small early break, but it didn't get more than a small gap," team director Rachel Hedderman said. "Our focus was on making sure to protect Lauren and keep her in position before the critical climbs of the day. The race, as always, was one of attrition with the front group shrinking on each climb."


Kristen Faulkner concentrates on keeping her power steady on her way to a solo stage win at the recent Tour de l'Ardeche. Faulkner took 33rd at the Flèche Wallonne and will take the line at Liege-Bastogne-Liege Oct. 4. 


Next up...


After the cancellation of Amstel Gold due to coronavirus restrictions, Liège-Bastogne-Liège will be the squad's final Ardennes Classic. The 135km race starts the morning of Oct. 4 at 8:40 a.m. CEST (11:40 p.m. PST and 2:40 a.m. EST). The final 90 minutes of racing will be broadcast on Eurosport, Global Cycling Network, and NBC Sports Gold, starting at 2:25 a.m. PST and 5:25 a.m. EST. 


"We expect another hard race, but after a couple days of recovery, and with a good recon of the course yesterday, we look forward to getting in the mix once again," Hedderman said.


Liège-Bastogne-Liège roster: Lauren Stephens Nina Kessler Kristen Faulkner Leah Dixon Sharlotte Lucas Emily Joy Newsom


Published: 10/03/2020

Tags:

RECENT POSTS

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

// Look Fabulous

Help support our athletes by proudly wearing Team gear. You’ll look great and love all our pro-level gear and apparel. Visit our pro shop.

// SUBSCRIBE 

Hear first hand how our season is going!  Sign up here and we will send our race reports and general news releases to you to keep you informed. 

© 2020 Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank