// Look Fabulous

Help support our athletes by proudly wearing Team gear. You’ll look great and love all our pro-level gear and apparel. Visit our pro shop.

// SUBSCRIBE 

Hear first hand how our season is going!  Sign up here and we will send our race reports and general news releases to you to keep you informed. 

© 2019 Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank

Nina Kessler

THE NETHERLANDS

Hometown: 

Current City:

Education: 

Age:  

Strengths: 

Velserbroek, The Netherlands
Velserbroek, The Netherlands 

B.A. Business Economics

30

All-Around, Classics

Career Highlights:

  • SPAR Flanders Diamond Tour   ('17)

  • Erondegemse Pijl (Erpe-Mere)  ('18)

  • 2nd  Prudential Ride London Grand Prix ('16)

  • 3rd  Ronde van Overijssel Women  ('14)

  • 3rd - European Track Championship - Madison

  • 2nd  Erondegemse Pijl (Erpe-Mere)  ('16)

  • 4th  Erondegemse Pijl (Erpe-Mere)  ('14)

  • Stage BeNe Ladies Tour  ('16)

  • 4th  EPZ Omloop van Borsele WE  ('16)

  • 3rd  Erondegemse Pijl (Erpe-Mere)  ('15)

  • Follow Nina on FB
  • Follow Nina on Twitter
  • Follow Nina on Instagram

 About Nina: 

Nina discovered cycling at just six years old through her father, an avid triathlete. Saying that she always "liked the cycling part the most," Nina joined a cycling club near her hometown and later joined the professional peloton in 2010. 

 

Nina has a decorated career in both road and track cycling and represented the Netherlands in the 2013 UCI women's time trial in Florence. In 2015, Nina became the Dutch National Champion in the Omnium and the Madison, together with Kirsten Wild. She also won the points classification at the 2016 La Course by Le Tour de France. 

 

// Q&A with Nina 

 

Why cycling?


I’ve been riding my bike since I’m 6 years old. My dad used to compete in triathlon, and once I joined him, and I liked the cycling part the most. I joined a cycling club near my hometown. I was welcome to join them and I got a little pink bicycle. That bike reminds me of my start in cycling, I still got the bike on my attic.

What do you love most about cycling? 


The life as a cyclist is special. You discover a lot of places al over the world and you get a lot of life experiences. It’s great to see how harder you work for something, the more you get in return.

Favorite race:

 

Anything hard and windy (but without rain). :) 

Career highlight:


My 3th place on the European Championship Madison, and my 2nd place at Ride London. And I am proud of every victory in the uci races. 

2019 goals:


A top 3 finish in a WorldTour race. 

When not riding, I like to...:


I like to be surrounded by friends and family. I like to play some party games and also to just relax on the couch and watch a movie with my friend. 

Favorite warmup song:

Anything by Pink! 

Favorite post-ride food:

 

Pancakes - with Nutella!

 

Any advice to aspiring cyclists?

 

Do what you love the most, and enjoy the every day things you do.