Current City: 




Aberdare, Wales

Derby, England

BA English Literature & History

Msc Strategic Procurement Management


Breakaways and Long Efforts

Career Highlights:

  • 2nd Overall 2019 UK National Series 

  • 1st on overall GC and Stage 2 at UK National Series Tour of the Reservoir

  • 3rd at Klondike GP UK National Series 

  • 3rd at South Coast Classic UK National Series 

  • Most Combative rider and 7th in Mountains Competition at 2019 Tour De Yorkshire

  • Follow Leah on FB
  • Follow Leah on Twitter
  • Follow Leah on Instagram

About Leah: 


Leah was a competitive runner as a junior and had some success on a national level. When transitioning to senior level, Leah found that she was in a continuous cycle of injured/unfit and subsequently lost the love for running. After concentrating on her studies and career for a few years, she decided to enter a marathon in 2017. After a few weeks of training, she got injured again! So her father suggested she buy a bike to do some cross training. 


Leah noticed a womens only session at  Aldersely Velodrome with Wolverhampton Wheelers, went along and hasn't looked back since (or run a marathon!). 

Leah currently has a full time job as a procurement category manager for Walgreens Boots Alliance, and 2020 will be her first full season as a professional cyclist. "I am super excited to be part of Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank!" Leah added. 

// Q&A with Leah 

Why cycling? 

It's fast and tactical but also has a great social scene. It's cool that often the smartest person wins the race rather than the strongest. I love riding fast and treading that line between being on the limit and blowing up. 

What's your motivation to train on those extra tough, cold-weather days?

To be the best I can be. Ever since I was a child, I dreamed of being a professional athlete. You won’t get smiles in the summer if you don’t get out and do the winter miles! 

Favorite ride:

Saturday Pattingham Bash...if there’s ever a ride to test my fitness, this is it! 

Career highlight:

Turning professional. :) 

2021 goals:

Apply the experiences I gained last year to this years races. Be a good teammate and help the team to some great results- If one of us wins, we all win! Get selected by Wales for the 2022 Commonwealth Games and podium at nationals.

When not riding, I like to...:

I have a full time job (not sure if this is something I like to do). Spend time with my boyfriend, Jacob, go back to Wales to visit family and friends, reading and going for tea! 

Favorite warmup song:

Lady Gaga; Edge of Glory

Favorite post-ride food:

Bagel with Banana and Honey 

Any advice to future // aspiring cyclists? 

Just get out on your bike with your mates and have fun!

Interesting fact:

I have a black belt in Karate.