EVA BUURMAN

NEDERLANDS

Hometown:  Wervershoof

Current City: Small village north of Ned

Education:  Health science with a Masters degree of science in Nutrition and Health

Age:  26

Strengths:  Hilly courses and punchy climbs, classics specialist.

Career Highlights:

  • 1st youth jersey at the Cadel Evans Great Ocean road race ‘18

  • 10th National championship in Netherlands ‘18

  • 7th Ladies tour of Norway ‘18

  • 11th Prudential Ride London ‘19

  • Follow Eva on FB
  • Follow Eva on Twitter
  • Follow Eva on Instagram

About Eva:  Sport has always been an important part of my life. Before I started cycling, I competed in speed and roller skating. At an age of about 18/19 years old, I started to do more cycling races in which I improved pretty fast. Before joining this team, I rode for Parkhotel-Valkenburg, Trek Drops and Boels-Dolmans. Next to cycling I studied Health Sciences and completed this study in 2017 with a Masters degree of science in Nutrition and Health. Although this subject really interests me, I am not doing much with this at the moment. During the off season I am working sometimes as a project manager at the Netherlands institute of prevention and e-health development. I feel more satisfied by combining training with working.

// Q&A with Eva 

Why cycling? 

To explore new places around the whole world and to challenge myself. The feeling of being in shape and achieving something where you have worked hard for, is indescribable 


Favorite ride:

Good question... in my home area I like to ride around the 'Dijk'. It is next to the water with sometimes beautiful views. Besides, I really like to train in the south of the Netherlands.

.Favorite Cycling Moment (so far):

Personally, I surprised myself by finishing top 10GC in Womens Tour in 2018. It is not a win, but for me it felt like a win. In the earlier days I once won the Dutch Championships for students. 

2021 goals:

Being at my very best during Flanders & Amstel Gold Race. I won't make a specific place or result, but these two races are my favorites! Next to that I want to contribute teammates to help to achieve their goals in races they highlight. After we have the planning for the races, I am going to set more specific goals for the rest of the season.


When not riding, I like to...:

Hmm... eating?  Well next to cycling I am not really good in doing nothing. I like to challenge and develop myself also in other aspects as learning new languages, working a bit, doing yoga.. that kind of stuff!

Favorite warmup song:

I don't have a specific one. As long as I can sing haha, although the people around me doesn't like it that much as I do

Favorite post-ride food:

Smoothie bowls with homemade granola!


Any advice to future // aspiring cyclists? 

Enjoy riding the bike! As long as you enjoy riding, the rest will come automatically (well not completely, it also takes hard work, but enjoying is the most important point). For example, I don't like to train always on my own and that is also why I go riding with other people from my area. For me it helps to keep it fun and challenging at the same time!

 

Little known Fact:
that I started drinking coffee or well, cappuccino, only three years ago and that it is now always my first thing I make in the morning next to my breakfast. Well and directly another little-known fact is the fact that I wake-up most of the days before 7 am without setting an alarm.​
 

// Look Fabulous

Help support our athletes by proudly wearing Team gear. You’ll look great and love all our pro-level gear and apparel. Visit our pro shop.

// SUBSCRIBE 

Hear first hand how our season is going!  Sign up here and we will send our race reports and general news releases to you to keep you informed. 

© 2021 Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank